Collins

General Awareness

The week from 22 April 2024 to 28 April 2024

Voting took place for 88 constituencies across 13 states in the 2nd phase of the Lok Sabha elections. Candidates whose seats went to the vote included Rahul Gandhi (Wayanad), Shashi Tharoor (Thiruvananthapuram) and Hema Malini (Mathura). Indian chess prodigy Dommaraju Gukesh, aged 17, has made history by winning the FIDE Candidates tournament, becoming the youngestever challenger in the history of the World Chess Championship. He will now face the reigning champion Ding Liren of China for the World Chess Championship.

On 22 April, India's largest Climate Clock was unveiled at the headquarters of the Council of Scientific & Industrial Research (CSIR) in New Delhi, in celebration of Earth Day. This initiative aims to raise awareness about climate change and its adverse impacts.

Reliance Jio, India's largest telecom operator, has outpaced China Mobile to become the world's largest mobile operator by data traffic consumption. Jio's network handled a massive 40.9 exabytes of data in the first quarter of 2024, compared to China Mobile's 38 exabytes, according to global analytics firm Tefficient.

At the 2024 Laureus Sports Awards ceremony, held in Madrid, Novak Djokovic was awarded the Sportsman of the Year (for the 5th time), while Aitana Bonmati was named Sportswoman of the year. Simone Biles and Jude Bellingham were awarded "Comeback of the Year" & "Breakthrough of the Year" respectively. India's first multi-purpose Green Hydrogen Pilot Project was inaugurated at the 1,500 MW Nathpa Jhakri Hydro Power Station in Jhakri, Himachal Pradesh. The project aims to produce green hydrogen from renewable energy sources.

Members of the Shompen tribe, residents of Great Nicobar and one of the world's most isolated tribes, voted for the first time ever in the Andaman and Nicobar Lok Sabha constituency elections.

Mukesh Dalal, BJP's candidate for Surat Lok Sabha constituency, has joined an exclusive list of 29 MPs who have been elected unopposed to the Lower House since 1952. He was handed over the winning certificate on 22nd April, after all his opponents either withdrew, or were disqualified.



Compiled by Seema Chari and Kunal Savarkar





www.collins.in